Our previous blog post, entitled Google Analytics Flow Visualization Date Range Comparison, covered the addition of the “Compare to Past” date range feature in the Flow Visualization Visitors Flow report. This feature is available in all three Flow Visualization reports: Visitors Flow, Goal Flow, and Events Flow.
The Visitors Flow report, located under Standard Reporting > Audience > Visitors Flow, allows Google Analytics users to better understand visitor behavior.
The Goal Flow report, located under Standard Reporting > Conversions > Goals > Goal Flow, allows Google Analytics users to visually see the paths taken by those visitors who complete goals, including non-URL goals such as engagement goals like Time on Site or Pages Visited. For this Flow Visualization report, make sure to select the goal you wish to view from the first drop down menu. In the following example, we are viewing Newsletter Sign-Ups.
The Events Flow report, located under Standard Reporting > Content > Events > Events Flow, allows Google Analytics users to better understand visitor behavior in relation to the Events set up onsite. Users have the ability to segment the data and to display Event information as Category, Category / Action, or Category / Action / Label.
The three Flow Visualization reports are a great feature of Google Analytics that allows users to dive deeper into the relationships of different pieces of data about a website. If you have questions about any of these three reports, please contact MoreVisiblity or sign-up for a free Google Analytics Consultation.
The Visitors Flow report in Google Analytics, located under Standard Reporting > Audience > Visitors Flow, now allows users to compare data with past date ranges to better understand how users interact with a website over time. The official announcement was made on the Google Analytics blog in the post entitled Better Insights with Flow Visualization Enhancements. The following is a screenshot of how the Visitors Flow report looks before you click “Apply” to assign a comparison with a past date range.
Notice that after you click “Apply,” the flow updates with green increase percentages or red decrease percentages indicating how this data compares to the time frame you just set.
This report can help answer questions like:
What pages on what paths of my website increased in visitors over this time frame?
Are more people reaching the “thank you” page or “order completion” page than before? Are certain pages delivering more traffic to this page than before?
Visitors Flow is one of three Flow Visualization reports currently available in Google Analytics. Our next blog post will touch on the three different Flow Visualization reports currently available: Visitors Flow, Goal Flow, and Events Flow.
Our previous post touched upon the importance of the Java Support report, located under the Browser & OS report (Standard Reporting > Audience > Technology > Browser & OS, with Java Support dimension from the Other drop-down under Primary Dimension and the Data display type). We also promised to answer two main questions website owners have after seeing that visitors with Java support often have three times as many conversions as those who do not:
Question 1: How much of your traffic does not support Java?
For the following example, there were 141,706 visits during the one year date range, of which 31,260 (approximately 22%) did not support Java. That means that approximately one out of every five visitors to the website had trouble viewing some parts of the webpages.
Question 2: How can we calculate the potential amount of revenue being lost due to Java?
Keeping with the same example, let us calculate how much revenue is being left “on the table” due to there not being a version of the website to serve to visitors who do not support Java.
First, a basic formula:
Second, the numbers from our example:
In this scenario, there was potential for nearly $90,000 more in revenue if the visitors who did not support Java were converted at the Conversion Ratio and Average Order Value of Java Supporters.
Carefully testing your pages, especially those in the funnel, who are currently served with Java in scenarios where Java is disabled can help your web team and marketing team identify possible areas to test and tweak over time. Additionally, you may consider serving different pages that are coded without Java to visitors depending on whether they support Java.
Revisiting this report after implementing webpage changes or multiple served versions can help you gauge the success of your efforts.
Please don’t hesitate to contact MoreVisibility if you need help understanding reports in Google Analytics or if you need a full website analytics audit.
PS: Another way to consider the data is that in total there were 141,706 Visits, that break down to $427,197.85 in Revenue from 110,446 Java Supported Visits and $36,780.17 Revenue from 31,260 Visits. There were 951 Java Supported Transactions and 71 Non-supported Transactions. If the 31,260 Non-supported Visits were to convert at a Java Supported Ecommerce Conversion Rate of 0.86% there would have been 268 Conversions/Transactions instead of 71. If the incremental Transactions (268-71=197) have an Average Value of $449.21 as the Java Supported ones do, the total potential increase in Revenue during this time period would have been 197 x $449.21 = $88,494.37 (some variation since you can’t have part of a transaction and there is some rounding). So approximately $90,000 was lost potential.